Gluten Free Pie Crust

My mother-in-law has Celiac’s and has for years. It seems to be a growing trend these days and I, myself, have even had issues with wheat and flour products. I won’t even to begin to tell you the reasons for this, it would take me all day!

Either way, I love to find yummy treats and food to make for her, not to mention, it’s usually healthier for the rest of my family as well.

Well, in honor of Pi Day (Pi=3.14… March 14th is 3/14…you get it, right? Yes, I am that big of a nerd, thanks for my Calc teacher, in high school) I decided to make a pie. A chocolate one, to be exact. I will share that recipe with you as well, but right now, it’s just the crust.

If you’re scared of making gluten free foods, or just starting out, don’t fret. I’ve made many mistakes already with things not tasting good and such. It’s quite sad after you put the money, time and effort into it. But oh well. This one seems to be a winner! (and paired with chocolate or fruit filling…it can’t be bad, right?)

Gluten Free Pie Crust (adapted from Primal Palate)
Yield: make about 1 1/2, 9-inch crusts

2 1/2 cups almond flour (I was a little short so I had to add about a 1/4 cup Bob’s Redmill Gluten Free All Purpose Flour)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup coconut oil, (soft, but not melted. It softens pretty easily when you stir)
2 Tbsp pure maple syrup or honey
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

In a medium bowl, combine flour, salt and baking soda. I found it best to whisk it together
In a small bowl, combine, coconut oil, maple syrup and vanilla. Whisk until mostly smooth I had a few chunks of coconut oil that I tried to break up with my fingers.
Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix. I started out by using a rubber scraper, but eventually had to use my hands. It was pretty sticky at first, but the more I kneaded it, the more pliable and dough like it became. So don’t be afraid to get your hands dirty and go at it!
Spray the bottom of a 9 or 10-inch pie pan with non stick cooking spray. Carefully press the dough into the pan and up the sides a bit. (I ended up burning my crust after the filling was in, so don’t press it up too far!) If you have some left over, you can use it in little tart pans for for some mini ‘pies’.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F, and bake crust(s) for 10-15 minutes or until golden. Let cool.
Then add whatever filling you want.

Note: If the pie filling needs to be baked, I would almost suggest not baking the crust until you are ready to bake the filling. Maybe the crust won’t burn as easily then. Or, if you have a crust shield, that would keep the crust from burning after you add the filling to bake as well. 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply :)

