Soft Gingersnap Molasses Cookies

046

Growing up, my mom always made Molasses Cutout Cookies. We always watched a Christmas movie and frosted cookies. It’s probably one of my most favorite memories of Christmas as a kid.

When my hubby (we’ll call him A) and I got married, I wanted to continue on some of these traditions. Let just say, he wasn’t as into it as I was. And, I was thrilled about making cookies to bring to A’s family Christmas parties! I learned quickly that his family didn’t appreciate the same type of cookies that I had enjoyed growing up.

The molasses cookies had Anise extract in them. If you don’t know what that it, it is quite similar to a black licorice flavor. Now, I’m not the biggest fan of black licorice and it’s definitely a taste you either love or hate. Well, as you may have already guessed, A hated it…as did his family. After a couple years of that, I started making half and half. Some molasses cookies with anise and other without. Now, I’ve given up and let my sister make those cookies so we can have some at my family’s Christmas. Since, us normal people, like anise flavoring. (I’m not sure what’s wrong with A’s family…lol. Just kidding. I love them!)

I still love molasses though, but I’ve moved on from cut-out’s with them. (I use my soft sugar cookie recipe for that!)

I found this recipe on a new favorite blog of mine. Not only does Sally bake, but she clearly has an addiction! LOL. (Sorry, I just couldn’t help myself. I love corny jokes)

Anywho, I’ve made a few things from her blog, and besides that fact that it’s making fatter, it’s great! She has so many good ideas!

I won’t keep you in suspense any longer!

Happy Day 2 of Christmas Flamingo Style!

Soft Gingersnap Molasses Cookies (adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction)Yield: a lot. A few dozen, at least

3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
2 tsp ground ginger
1 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cups (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup molasses1 egg
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup sugar, for rolling (you might need some more, depending on how many cookies you actually get from the recipe)
Butterscotch chips, white chocolate chips, and/or semi-sweet chocolate chips (optional)

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, soda, spices, and salt. Set aside.  In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream butter for about a minute on medium speed. Add brown sugar and mix until fluffy, scraping the sides as needed. Add molasses, egg, and vanilla. Mix well, scraping the sides as needed.

With your mixer on low speed, slowly add the dry ingredients. Do not over-mix. Cover the bowl with foil and refrigerate for 4 hours or overnight.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Shape dough into 1-inch balls (mine were probly a little smaller). Roll balls in white sugar. Place on baking sheet a couple inches apart. (they don’t spread much) Bake for 8-10 minutes. I suggest for closer to 8, depending on how hot your oven is. DON’T OVER BAKE!! They will be hard and crunchy if you overbake them and that’s what we DON’T want.

If you are adding the chips to the top (you can leave them plain too!), immediately place 5-7 chips in the center of each cookie. Allow to cool for a couple minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

I apparently to forgot to take pictures of the cookies with white chocolate and chocolate chips...

I apparently to forgot to take pictures of the cookies with white chocolate and chocolate chips…

Note: That red spot you see on my parchment paper is NOT blood. I had made colored sugar covered cookies prior to these 🙂

Flamingo #2 from 2006

Flamingo #2 from 2006

 

 

Leave a Reply :)

