Pumpkin Doughnuts

040

I know, you must think I’m crazy for posting another pumpkin recipe, but I just couldn’t resist! This one is just too perfect. Too yummy to not pass on.

I had never made doughnuts myself, but when I was growing up, my mom would make them once in a while. Cover them with powdered sugar, a cinnamon sugar mixer, or just eat them plain, right out of the fryer! Oh, the memories.

So my sister asked me to make these for our “down home” Thanksgiving gathering and I jumped at the chance! We happen to own a deep fryer, so I was pretty pumped to pull that out!

Did I mention it made my house smell fantastic??? Cause it did.

Did I mention we made adorable turkey's with my two boys and nephew that day!!!

Did I mention we made adorable turkey’s with my two boys and nephew that day!!!

These are seriously worth the trouble for the chance to eat them afterwards. Make them for your own Christmas morning…before the kids are up. That way you can have them all to yourself ๐Ÿ˜‰

Pumpkin Doughnuts (from Annie’s Eats)
Yield: I don’t remember how many this made..but it made quite a few

For the Doughnuts:
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1 cup sugar
3 Tbsp unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 large egg
2 large egg yolks
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup buttermilk (1/2 Tbsp vinegar or lemon juice, fill up to 1/2 cup mark with milk, let sit 5 minutes)
1 cup pumpkin pure

Canola Oil or Peanut Oil for frying. (This can be done in a deep skillet or a deep fryer)

Cinnamon Sugar Coating:
1/2 cup sugar
2 tsp ground cinnamon

For the dough, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices in a medium bowl. Whisk to blend and set aside.
In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine sugar and butter and beat until well blended and fluffy. Mix in the egg, then egg yolks, then vanilla until incorporated. Combine the buttermilk and pumpkin in a liquid measuring cup and whisk together. With the mixer on low-speed, add in the dry ingredients in three additions, alternating with the buttermilk pumpkin mixture, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Once the dough is mixed, cover and chill for at least 3 hours (I had to chill mine overnight, which was nice since we had fresh doughnuts for the morning!)

On a well floured surface, roll or pat out the dough until it’s between 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. (I think mine were a little closer to 1/4 inch, which was fine with me, it made more that way) Sprinkle the surface of the dough with flour and with a biscuit/doughnut cutter. Re-roll the scraps as necessary.
Add oil to your frying pan (2-3 inches of oil) or deep fryer and heat to 365-370 degrees F. (Our deep fryer only went down to 375 and it worked just fine)

026

Add the rings of dough to the hot oil (only 2 or 3 at a time, whatever fits best in you pan or fryer) a single layer, and not touching. Fry turning once until doughnuts are golden brown and cooked through.ย  I ended up having a few at the beginning that weren’t quite done, so I left the next ones in a little longer. Use the same process for the doughnut holes.

Mix together the cinnamon and sugar. While the doughnuts are still hot (just right to touch) and still a little greasy, roll in cinnamon sugar mixture to coat completely.

Enjoy!

Here are a few more picture of my fun!

My messy doughnut cutter. This is no clean task.

My messy doughnut cutter. This is no clean task.

Coffee, turkey's and doughnuts...could Thanksgiving get any better??

Coffee, turkey’s and doughnuts…could Thanksgiving get any better??

Done to perfection.

Done to perfection.

 

I have to share with you all my Flamingo ornaments. I’m not really sure how or why I got hooked on these birds. I just think they are so cool! So I thought I’d share all my flamingo ornaments with you. One a day per my 12 Days of Christmas Posts ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s the first one!

Our first Christmas ornament; 2005

Our first Christmas ornament; 2005

 

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Doughnuts

Leave a Reply :)

