Try, Try Again

Well, I’ve done it again. I made a clean (which also happen to be gluten free) treat for myself last night, and it did NOT turn out.

I’ve done this countless times. I really want something yummy AND healthy. Is that too much to ask for?

I don’t think so.

Most recipes I try aren’t sweet enough or are too sweet, but in a weird way. Not a sugary sweet, since I don’t use granulated sugar. It’s hard to explain, but it’s weird. And I don’t like it.

So I’m trying it again. Vanilla Coconut Flour Cookies. Found here.

Not only are these clean, but they are also gluten free 🙂

I whipped them up quickly after dinner and was so excited to have a yummy healthy treat!!! And right before Halloween. Maybe I won’t splurge on candy this year…well, let be real.

They were…okay. Don’t get me wrong, they tasted good. The texture is something to get used to, especially for someone that’s never baked with coconut flour. But if you are someone like me that is used to sugar filled goodness, these will wake up your taste buds!

The texture is definitely different  from any baked thing I’ve ever made, but don’t let this discourage you, try, try again.

Vanilla Coconut Flour Cookies (adapted from The Prudent Wife)

3/4 cup coconut flour, sifted
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup melted coconut oil (you can also use butter)
1 cup coconut milk
6 eggs
1 Tbsp vanilla extract
1-2 Tbsp honey (more if you want the cookies sweeter)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
In a food processor, beat the eggs thoroughly. Add coconut milk and honey. Pulse a few times until combined.
Add coconut oil and pulse until combined.
Add dry ingredients and pulse gently until combined.

Taste your ‘dough’ to see if you like it. If it’s not sweet enough, add some more honey.

Bake for 20 minutes

All ingredients mixed together!

The finished product!

Add-ins:

When adding the dry ingredient, mix in:
1/2 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
Dashes of ginger, nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon, and cloves, to taste.
Top with a few chocolate chips before baking.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply :)

