Crockpot Chicken

The chicken as it was cooking and making my smell, oh so good!

I have to admit, whole chickens kind freak me out. The fact that the whole body is there, still being held together by muscle and tendons….eeewwwww! And taking out the insides? Don’t even get me started…
But for some reason, I keep buying whole chickens. I think it’s because I’m cheap and would rather spend $3.00 on a whole chicken than $7.00 on a whole, cut up chicken. Call me spending savvy…lol.
I happened to be on the phone with my hubby when I was preparing this chicken. I had my gloves on and was ready to tackle that chicken. To my pleasant surprise, all the insides were nice stuffed into a little plastic bag!
Woohoo!
No gagging for me today!

I think what I love most about this recipe is the smell. It makes my house smell so good! And it also doesn’t take ALL day to make. Right around 4 hours..or less if your crock-pot runs warm, like mine.
I put mine in at about 2:20pm and it was done before 6. My chicken was just over 4lbs. So, really you just cook until its so tender it just falls off the bone. Yum.
What’s more, you can use the leftover juices, bones, skin, and whatever other parts there are, to make your own chicken stock, right in the crockpot, overnight. You will thank me for this. Waking up to the yummy smell of DIY Chicken Stock…mmmmm.
It makes me hungry just thinking about it.
I served this chicken with baked potatoes and broccoli. Sour cream (or plain greek yogurt), shredded cheese and butter and you have a delicious meal!

Crockpot Whole Chicken and DIY Chicken Stock

1 Whole Chicken, 3-4 lbs
2 tsp paprika
1 tsp salt
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp black pepper
1 onion

Combine dried spices in a small bowl.
Loosely chop the onion and place in the bottom of the crock pot.
Prepare your chicken by removing and giblets, then rub the spice mixture all over the chicken. (give it a good massage!) You can place some spices inside the cavity too, if you want.
Place prepared chicken in the crock-pot, put the cover on, and turn on to high.
Don’t add liquid, you won’t need it.
Cook until the chicken falls off the bones. I test this by sticking a fork or knife in it and twisting a bit.

Now, don’t throw out those bones or skin or anything else leftover!

Overnight Crockpot Chicken Stock

1 Leftover chicken carcass
1 onion, chopped loosely
1 rib of celery, roughly chopped
1 carrot, roughly chopped (you don’t even need to peel it)
1 bay leaf
fresh or dried parsley (I just shake a bunch in, probably around a 1/2 tbsp)
1 tsp chives
Salt, to taste
Please, if you don’t have these ingredients, don’t let it stop you from making it. If you compare the original recipe with this one, I changed some stuff, because I was out..

My frozen chicken stocks 🙂

After all edible meat is devoured removed from the bones and such, add the carcass and all other ingredients to the same crock pot you used for you chicken. Don’t remove anything from before.
Fill the crock-pot with water until its about
1/2 inch from the top.
Turn the crock-pot on low after dinner and cook all night (8-10 hours). This could also be done during the day, for the same amount of time.
After the stock is done cooking, turn off the heat and use a soup ladle to pass the ladle through a fine sieve, removing the bones and such.
You can either freeze or refrigerate the stock for future use.
I like to freeze mine in my silicone muffin tin, then its portioned out in about 1/4 cup portions. After they’re frozen, I just pop them out and place them in a freezer bag.

1/4 cup

One thought on “Crockpot Chicken

  1. Sounds delicious! When I am not gagging all day and night I will be trying this.. so maybe..after the baby is born! 🙂

Leave a Reply :)

