Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

I’m a skeptic.

I’ll be the first to admit that.

So when I saw this recipe for Low-Fat Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies, I wasn’t going to let them fool me. How could cookies with only 2 tablespoons of butter be soft and chewy. No way.

But, since I wanted to make something for an Arbonne party I hosted the other night and I didn’t want EVERYTHING to be pumpkin…(only 75% of it, apparently)

I went to work. First making these cookies. Boy was I wrong. These things were a hit! Even with only two tablespoons of butter, these were the softest most delicious chocolate chip oatmeal cookies I’ve ever made!
They were still soft the next day even! Now that is impressive to me.

These are also pretty versatile. You could add raisins instead. Or butterscotch chips. Anything your little heart desires, really.

This was all of them…besides the ones I ate.

You could easily freeze these cookies to bring out for a special occasion or freeze the dough.

Don’t they just look so good? You will want to go make them now..trust me.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies (adapted from Six Sister’s Stuff)
Yield: 3 dozen

1 cup all purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
2 Tbsp butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup unpacked brown sugar
1 large egg
1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1/2 tsp vanilla
2 cups quick oats
3/4 cup chocolate chips (or any add-in you prefer)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
In a bowl, combine butter, sugars, egg, applesauce, and vanilla; mix well.
Add in flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Mix until just combined
Add oatmeal, mix well. Fold in chocolate chips.
Drop by tablespoon-fulls onto lined cookies sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes until the edges are just turning light brown.
Let cool for a couple minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply :)

