Pumpkin Spice Cake with Cinnamon Butter Cream Frosting

Well, to continue on in my celebration of Autumn, I decided to bake yesterday, despite the warm temperatures. I felt the need to make a practice cake..and boy am I glad I did! I was so proud of it. I don’t feel as though any of my other cakes compare to this one. Was it fancy? No. Did I do rosettes or decorative piping? No. It was simple. Plain, some might say. But to me, it was beautiful gorgeous perfect.

 

Image

I loved this cake so much, it even received an outdoor photo shoot!

Image

I just couldn’t stop taking pictures!!!

Image

Image

Image

Also, the recipe I used, found here, made a three layer, 8-inch cake. Well, I knew I didn’t want big cake. I wanted to make something small and delicate. Something I could practice on in a smaller scale. You may ask what I did with the leftover batter. Well, I’ll let the pictures explain it for me 🙂

Image

Image

In case you’re wondering, I was able to make a two layer 6-inch cake and 9 cupcakes.

Image

This recipe really was a hit. Not only did I make the best looking cupcakes that I’ve ever made (Beth, you would have been proud!), but it all tasted amazing too! I received lots of compliments from my friends (Thank you everyone!)

The cake was perfectly moist. The frosting perfectly sweet and cinnamon-y. I was going to take a picture of a slice in daylight today, but forgot and ate it instead. So you are stuck with my yellow-y pictures because my kitchen walls are yellow. Oh well.

Image

At first, I wanted to use plain butter cream frosting, since I knew I want to try piping of some sort and wanted to practice getting the cake as smooth as I could. But once I figured out my cake flavor, plain old butter cream just wasn’t going to cut it. I needed something with more flavor than just butter and powdered sugar. Don’t get me wrong, I love the flavor of butter and powdered sugar, but it just didn’t seem to fit in with this cake. I then had the idea to add cinnamon. I went on a search to see if this was even a possibility, and sure enough, it was! Thanks to Pinterest, I found many recipes. I ended up combining a couple and making my own. And I’m so glad that I did. I ended up with just enough for the cake and cupcakes. Whew!

Pumpkin Spice Cake (adapted from Country Living)
Yield: 3, 8-inch layers or 2, 6-inch layers and 9 cupcakes

3/4 cup unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks), room temperature
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup sugar
3 eggs
1 cup pumpkin puree (I used canned, but you could use homemade as well!)
1/2 cup buttermilk (1/2 tbsp lemon juice or vinegar, fill the rest of half cup with milk. let sit for a few min.)
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp allspice (I was out of nutmeg, which is what the original recipe called for)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Cut circles out of parchment paper to line the bottom of the cake pans. With some softened butter, lightly coat the sides of the cake pans and the circles of parchment paper. Set aside.

In a large bowl of an electric mixer, cream butter until smooth. Add the sugars and mix until smooth. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well between each egg.

In another bowl, combine pumpkin puree, buttermilk, and vanilla in a medium bowl and set aside

In yet another bowl, combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda, and allspice and set aside.

In thirds, alternate adding the flour mixture and pumpkin mixture to the butter mixture, blending well after each addition until smooth.

Pour cake batter into prepared pans and bake until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. 35-40 minutes for 8-inch cakes.
15 minutes for cupcakes (at least the 9 that I baked)
About 30 minutes for two 6-inch cakes

Let sit for a couple minutes, then remove cakes from pan and let cool completely on a wire rack.

Cinnamon Butter Cream Frosting (my own creation!)

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter, room temperature
1/4 cup butter flavored shortening
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon
3 1/2 cups powdered sugar, sifted
3-4 Tbsp heavy cream or milk

In bowl of a stand mixer, blend butter and shortening until smooth. Add vanilla and cinnamon. Sift powdered sugar into the bowl in 1 or 2 cup increments. Otherwise you will have a giant ‘poof’ of sugar. I also like to use me bowl cover when I’m mixing things like this. (See picture below)
Add heavy cream/milk one tablespoon at a time until frosting reaches desired consistency.
Note: I like to use my whisk attachment for frosting. It seems to make it fluffier.

Image
My extra helper!!!

Image

Image
There had to be a reward for being such a good helper! He sat licking this for over 15 minutes!

Assembly:

Place bottom layer of cake on cake stand or plate. Spread frosting on top of bottom layer.
Place next layer on top of frosting. Place a large dallop of frosting on top the this layer (if it’s your last layer) and spread it pretty thin. Use the extra to thinly frost the sides. This is your crumb coat. Place in the refrigerator until frosting is hardened. This will make it easier to put on the actually layer of frosting.
Frost the cake with an even coat of frosting. You can keep it in the fridge if you want the top coat of frosting to harden as well. Decorate as desired.
I also use an offset spatula to frost my cakes, it seems to work quite well!

Image
Not sure why my cakes had belly buttons.

Image
Don’t worry about the frosting that might fall out the sides, you can use this as part of the crumb coat.

Image
The crumb coat 🙂

If you’re going to make cupcakes as well, you can use a knife to spread the frosting on or a frosting tip. I used a Wilton 2D tip.

Image

Thanks for visiting The Stuffed Flamingo!

 

 

 

One thought on “Pumpkin Spice Cake with Cinnamon Butter Cream Frosting

  1. Pingback: Happy Football Season! | The Stuffed Flamingo

Leave a Reply :)

