Clean Eating Zucchini Bread

image

I’ve been on a kick with bread-y things lately, although I’m not sure why, since carbs have not been agreeing with me.lately. Every time I eat a slice of whole wheat toast a burger on a bun, I get really bloated and feel terrible for a few hours or more. I don’t think I am going to end up with celiacs, like my mother-in-law, but I think its from eating so many healthy carbs, my body doesn’t know how to digest bread carbs. (At least, that’s what I’m telling myself) I am not saying that this recipe isn’t healthy. It is. It’s clean, and its really really yummy, so I still eat, just in small increments. One slice at a time and with some protein, like Greek yogurt or cottage cheese, and it seems to be fine. I also feel better feeding this to my family since its not chocked full of sugar and other ingredients that aren’t good for them.
My sister was the one that originally told me of this recipe, since we are both following a clean eating food plan, and she found it on one of my favorite websites, The Gracious Pantry. It is full of clean recipes for everything! I know I’ve mentioned it before, but I can’t emphasize enough, how much I love looking around at all the yummy recipes. I also fond tons of stuff on Pinterest. I have my own Clean Eating board, so when I want to find something, I know just where to go!
Now that I’ve completely gone off on a bunny trail… Kill da wabbit, kill da wabbit… (Sorry, I couldn’t resist singing that one)
A slight note on the zucchini, I like to buy really big zucchini, chop it in really small pieces and freeze it. Thanks to my sister and her wonderful garden, I was able to get 3 large zucchini to freeze! Once they are that big, zucchini doesn’t taste the greatest just sliced and fried or baked. So here I sit with at least 16 cups of chopped zucchini and so much baking I want to do!
Bring it on!

Clean Eating Zucchini Bread (adapted from The Gracious Pantry)
Yield: One 9×5 loaf
2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
2/3 cup honey
1 generous cup grated zucchini
2 tbsp. unsweetened apple sauce
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 whole egg
1 egg white
1 tbsp. fresh lemon zest
3/4 cup plain, non-fat Greek yogurt
Chocolate Chips (optional)

In a medium to large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and nutmeg. In a slightly larger bowl, whisk together honey, zucchini, applesauce, olive oil, egg, egg white, lemon zest and yogurt. Using a wooden spoon, mix the flour mixture into the wet mixture. Stir well.

If you choose to add chocolate chips, now is the time. By adding them, the bread is no longer considered ‘clean’, but it’s darn close. So I added some. However, when I cut into the bread, I noticed all the chocolate chips had sunk to the bottom of the loaf. So if you want to avoid this, don’t add them or just sprinkle on top after you’ve poured the batter into the bread pan.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9×5 loaf pan. Pour batter into pan.

Bake for 50-60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

One thought on “Clean Eating Zucchini Bread

Leave a Reply :)

