Late Night Walmart Run

After my busy day yesterday, I ended up stopping at Walmart on my way home to pick up a sprinkler so my kids won’t die from heat this weekend. (and it will definitely help water the grass too!)
When I first got there, I had to use the bathroom, so I walked in, found a stall that I could actually lock the door on. (I won’t fill you in all the details in there…lol) So I come out, wash my hands and, of course, check myself out in the mirror to make sure I ‘look presentable’ for the rest of the Walmart world. Then I thought to myself, why? Why do I need to look good for everyone else? Why do I care what other people, that I will probly never see again, think of me and what I look like? Why do I feel like I need to be accepted by these people? I have someone WAY more important that I should be thinking about.
The only person that has the right to judge me, inside and out, is my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.
1 Peter 3:3-5 says,
‘Don’t be concerned about the outward beauty of fancy hairstyles, expensive jewelry, or beautiful clothes. You should clothe youselves instead with the beauty that come from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God. This is how the holy women of old made themselves beautiful. They trusted God and accepted the authority of their husbands.’
So why do I continue to care how I look for everyone else? I should only be concerned with making sure my heart is right. That I’m praising the Lord in all I do AND in all my thoughts.
So next time you need to make yourself look beautiful to go out, remember Who you are looking good for and make sure your heart is in the right place. Then you will be truly beautiful.
*stepping off my soapbox now*

One thought on “Late Night Walmart Run

Leave a Reply :)

