Gluten Free Zucchini Brownies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Clean and Lean. That’s the motto for eating clean. Now, I may not be 100% great at eating clean, but since I’m about half way through with my clean eating challenge, I’m trying my hardest to keep at it. (we’ll just ignore the small portion of Culver’s custard I ate after lunch…shhh) So other than that, things are going pretty well. I feel great! I’ve lost weight. I have not, however, been doing so well in my exercise challenge. Since my hip was hurting a couple weeks back, I couldn’t do much a while, and even now, if I do too much it still hurts. So I’ve seeing the chiropractor and getting it fixed.

I also decided this week that our cars needed some cleaning. So I got out my bucket, water, soap, tire brush, wash rags and drying towels and went to work. I had my two boys get out their bikes and ‘wash’ them too (because they were obviously dirty…). Either way, that had fun playing and splashing around in the water.  In the middle of washing the van, my phone rang, so I started to walk into the garage to see who it was (it turned out to be a number I didn’t recognize anyway) I slipped and my flip-flop got stuck between the driveway and the lip of the garage floor, slamming my big toe into the garage floor lip. Yeah, it hurt. No, I didn’t cry, but I wanted to. I decided to go inside and get washcloth since I was bleeding all over and I’ve had band-aids on it ever since. It hurts to wear real shoes, so I’ve been walking around with socks and crocs on all week. (real classy, I know) On the flip side, my youngest is participating in a diaper study this week and I have to wear socks while I’m there with him. So it all works out really! Besides not being able to go jog or do cardio at home. Grrrr…

You might be wondering what all of that had to with zucchini brownies. Nothing. Just keeping you up to date on my challenges!!!

So, I made these delicious zucchini brownies last week. To be honest, they weren’t really like brownies, but more like zucchini bread with chocolate chips in it. So there are two things that I will change next time I make them and I’ll let you know how it turns out. Either way, they were amazing. And I’m pretty sure my hubby never tried them and my kids didn’t like them, so I got to eat them all myself!!! They lasted almost a week and a half though, so it’s not like I mowed them down or anything. But oh my, I did have to control myself. They were so good!

I won’t leave you in suspense any longer! Here’s the recipe!

(I also didn’t get a picture of them cut, because I kept forgetting and then ended up eating them all before I remembered :/ )

Gluten Free Zucchini Brownies  (adapted from Delighted Momma)

1 cup of almond butter (I used my DIY Almond Butter)

1 1/2 cup of grated or chopped zucchini ( I suggest shredded/grated)

1/3 cup of  honey

1 egg

1 tsp of vanilla

1 tsp of baking soda

1 tsp of cinnamon

1/2 tsp of nutmeg

1 cup chocolate chips (I used milk chocolate, but you can use whatever you want)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place all ingredients in to a mixing bowl and mix together. Pour batter into and 8×8 or 9×9 in pan and bake for 35-40 minutes or until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Note: My first attempt at these I chopped the zucchini, but I would suggest shredding it or grating it (I have the shredder attachment for my kitchen aid mixer, so I will use that next time. Also, I would melt the chocolate chips if you want that ‘brownie’ consistency

One thought on “Gluten Free Zucchini Brownies

  1. Pingback: Mega Zucchini & Bean Brownies | tawnylee

Leave a Reply :)

