Buttercream Frosting

I don’t know about you, but I think frosting is the best part of eating cake. I used to love the cake, but after having so many dry ones (store bought, wedding, etc) I opted to just eat the frosting. The cake is merely the vessel. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good cake. But come on, who really doesn’t purposely take stake out the corner piece with the all the piping and big roses. Mmmm, just thinking about it makes me want to run to my kitchen and bake a cake right now!

I’m always on the search for yummy frosting recipes. My husband LOVES cream cheese frosting and I’ve never actually used a recipe, but my friend Beth found a great recipe that I will share someday when I make a cake that need cream cheese frosting. (which will probly be October for my husband’s birthday) For now, I have butter cream.

I got this recipe from a dear mommy friend of mine. She had made a Minnie Mouse cake for her youngest daughter’s 2nd birthday and I loved the frosting! So, of course, I asked if I could have the recipe, and it’s the only one I’ve used since.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have also decorated cookies with this frosting and much much more. I just don’t have pictures of it all!

It is a sweet frosting, so if you’re not into really sweet frosting..this isn’t for you. But I have another recipe to two that I’d like to try that you might like better, so stay tuned!

 

Butter Cream Frosting  (from my friend Andrea)

1/2 cup shortening (I use butter flavored, because it’s what I always have on hand)

1/4 cup butter (softened)

1 tsp vanilla extract

4 cups powdered sugar

4-6 Tbsp milk

Cream shortening and butter until combined. Add vanilla. Mix in 1 or two cups of powdered sugar, or until it becomes to stiff to beat. Then add 1 or tbsp milk. Keep alternating until you have your desired consistency.

Spread or pipe on to cake or cookies….or right into your mouth..that’s yummy too 😉

You can also color it with any type of food coloring. It does get warm fast, so you may need to refrigerate it a few times if you are planning on piping.

Leave a Reply :)

