Birthday Time!!!

That’s right. Another birthday in our family. This time is was for my youngest son Jonah. He turned two last Friday and I can’t believe I’ve had two years with him already. It’s crazy how time flies!

So, as you may have guessed, I had to come up with a cool cake for him. I was going to make a veggies tales cake, but have had no inspiration for one. And I have been planning on veggies tales for a few months now and had no ideas and didn’t actually sit down to start planning it until last Tuesday. Still nothing.

Beth was here baking cookies for her mom, while be discussed cakes and themes. The only other idea I had was making a Very Hungry Caterpillar cake. I adore the Very Hungry Caterpillar and I decided that you could really only use that theme while Jonah was little. He will be too big for it next year when he turns three. (THREE!?!? I’M NOT READY FOR THIS!!!!!) So, I did some searching on Pinterest and found some different ideas for cake. Many use fondant, which I didn’t really want to get into for this cake.  I debated going with cupcakes and shaping them to form the caterpillar… But in the end, we went with a bundt cake, two-layer, 6 inch round cake, and rice krispy bars 🙂

Yes, I know that is adorable. We loved this caterpillar before he was even frosted!

Beth came over on Friday to help me decorate him. We spent about 4 1/2 hours making him beautiful. And it was so worth it!

Isn’t he cute!!! I could just eat him up!!! (oh wait..I did!)

We couldn’t have been happier with the outcome and I’m so proud of my ‘big’ two year old! He is truly a blessing to my family and brings us such joy (and trials) every day! I just love him so much!

Here’s a couple things about my upcoming week:

I have some fun posts to come and some changes (in my life) that I will be sharing with you all! Also, Beth and I are headed to Illinois for the Annual Wilton Tent Sale on Saturday!!! I can’t tell you how excited I am about this!!! I will be sharing all about our trip next week, along with pictures of everything I buy!! Woohoo!! I’M SO PUMPED!!!! (can you tell? hehehe)

I hope you had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend! Thanks for spending time with me today 🙂

3 thoughts on “Birthday Time!!!

  1. Pingback: Summer Loving « Beth's Blue Plate Special

Leave a Reply :)

