Rhubarb Crunch

I know what you’re thinking… two posts in less than 24 hours…crazy! Last night was totally on a whim and this morning I happened to have lots of time to bake since I woke up with my husband at 3am and couldn’t fall back asleep. I was not thrilled about this at all, but decided to make the best out of it. So I did my devotions is peace, planned my day, and baked this dessert all before the news came on at five. I even had time to read part of a book that has been sitting on my shelf staring at me for a year. (yeah, I don’t read much) I showered, only to find my oldest out of bed and playing in the living room. We do have a rule in our house: do not come out of your room until 7am. He’s only three, but he knows all his numbers, so we bought an alarm clock for him and he “usually” doesn’t come out until closer to seven.

So now that I’ve been awake for 4 hours, I’m blogging.

I love adore this recipe. It tracks back to my childhood and probably to my Mom’s and maybe even my Grandma’s childhood. I do think that rhubarb is an acquired taste. I’ve known many people that haven’t liked it or haven’t even tried it. Which just seems unreal to me. I grew up with rhubarb. We had two patches of it on our farm. And let’s face it, who wouldn’t like a granola crust with fruit in the middle that is drowning in sugary syrup? I mean come on.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rhubarb Crunch

4 cups raw, chopped rhubarb

For Crust:

1 cup all purpose or whole wheat flour (any flour works fine. Use your preference)

3/4 cup uncooked oatmeal

1 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup melted butter

For Syrup:

1 cup white sugar

2 Tbsp cornstarch

1 cup water

1 tsp vanilla

Directions for Crust:

In medium bowl, combine flour, oatmeal, brown sugar, and cinnamon. Melt butter and pour into flour mixture and mix until crumbly. Pour half the mixture in greased 9×13 pan and pat down.

Place rhubarb evenly on top of crust.

Directions for Syrup:

In small saucepan, whisk together sugar, cornstarch, water, and vanilla. Over medium heat cook, stirring often, until mixture becomes thick and clear. (this part has always confused me. When I start cooking it, I think, “how will I know when it’s ready?” But it’s very ‘clear’ when it’s ‘clear’) Pour over rhubarb.

Sprinkle the rest of the flour/butter mixture on top of rhubarb and syrup and spread evenly.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes or until bubble around the edges or the crust is browning slightly.

Let cool a while and serve with vanilla ice cream or whipped topping.

NOTE: I tend to 1 1/2 the crust recipe. So it would be 1 1/2 cups flour and 1 1/2 cups brown sugar and so on. I also use extra rhubarb, because I love rhubarb!

 

Here’s a picture of it baking in my oven..I couldn’t resist. Ignore my incredibly dirty oven door and the fact that you can see my reflection. Yes, I am wearing flamingo pajamas.

Leave a Reply :)

