Taco Seasoning

I don’t know about you, but there seems to be a baby boom lately! I just heard on the news the week that the birth rate is down compared to past years, but not around here! There’s baby’s coming out everywhere! (okay, maybe that brings a bad word picture to mind, but you get the drift)

I was just at a baby shower last night and we also had one a couple weeks ago for another friend. Both of whom are having girls. I have so admit, I’m a little a lot extremely jealous! I have to admit, I LOVE my two boys. I wouldn’t trade them for anything! But there’s something about having a newborn baby..and a girl would be wonderful. (at least until she’s a teenager…) But since this blog isn’t about baby’s and it’s about food, I will move on.

What got me started on baby showers, is I always make food for them! I enjoy sharing my talents (if you can call them that) with people, and then I don’t have to eat it all. (and let’s face it, I would) Since my friend Beth is always summoned to to the cake/cupcakes or whatever dessert there will be (since she absolutely amazing at it!) I get to try some other recipes and fun little treats.

Last night I decided on Taco Dip. One of my favorite ‘snack’ items at parties. I like to believe it’s a healthy option. At least compared to cake, cookies, and cheese. Just saying.

I used my taco seasoning in my taco dip last night, and it was amazing! I has so much more flavor than the packaged stuff from the store, and it also so much healthier since it doesn’t have all the preservatives in it. You can use it in taco dip or with any meat that you would normally make tacos out of. I have halved the recipe before, just so it didn’t make as much at one time. But it keeps for a long time. You could also store it in the fridge or freezer, I’m sure.

Image

Taco Seasoning  (from Annie’s Eats)

4 Tbsp chili powder

3 Tbsp plus 1 tsp paprika

3 Tbsp ground cumin

1 Tbsp plus 2 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Image

Combine all ingredients in bowl and mix well. Store in an airtight container until ready to use.

When making tacos, use about 2 heaping tablespoon per 1 pound of meat. Add about 1 cup water to meat and seasoning and simmer until most of the liquid is gone.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply :)

