Breakfast Bars

I’m not a very spontaneous person. It’s a fact of life for me. It’s not easy for me to want change. I take a long time to get used to an idea, and usually, when I finally get used to it, something else changes. It’s the facts of life I suppose, but I don’t like it. Although most things that take me a while to get used are major changes in life or a schedule (I can’t stand schedule changes!), today’s spontaneity was all about breakfast.

My kids love cereal and will eat it everyday. I do, however try to get some oatmeal or toast in once in a while as well. But what can be easier than cereal and banana? This recipe is darn close, I’ll tell you that.

Along with being easy and delicious, it’s also healthy! That’s right, healthy. I love finding things that are good for me and still actually have taste. Cause let’s face it, most healthy foods don’t have much or any taste (at least not a good one, anyway)

I am all about Pinterest-ing and am looking at it in the morning while I watch the news and drink tea. I found this recipe  and thought it sounded like something I and my boys could eat. We all love peanut butter, we all love bananas, and we all love oatmeal. It’s perfect! So I gave it shot.

It’s super yummy when it’s warm, right out of the oven. Paired with fruit (I have to be honest, I didn’t have fruit with breakfast today…cause I ate a second bar. Don’t tell anyone)

It was a little crumby for me, but I may not have let it cool long enough, but I had two little boys begging for breakfast..I had no choice but to cut them almost right away. And I was thinking about it this afternoon and wondering if adding some ground flax would take care of that crumminess.

I’ll try it out next time I make these and I’ll let you know. For now, Enjoy!

Breakfast Bars (adapted from Gingerbread Bagels)

1 1/2 cups quick cooking oats
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk (I used coconut milk, just to add some sweetness, and I just love coconut milk)
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 large mashed banana
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter

Mix together the oats, brown sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.

Add the vanilla extract, milk and egg.

Then add in the mashed banana and peanut butter. Combine all of the ingredients.

Pour the mixture into a lightly greased 8 by 8 inch baking pan. Bake at 350 F degrees for 20 minutes.

Let cool for a bit, but not too long. You want to eat them warm.

You can also spread peanut butter on top.

One thought on “Breakfast Bars

  1. Hi Karen, Your blog is pretty and tasty. What a fun thing to bookmark on my computer. Have fun being a fellow blogger. Love!

Leave a Reply :)

