Tortellini Soup

When I first saw this recipe, I was not so sure. I like soup, but I’ve always been more of a chicken noodle or chili kind of girl. Anything that’s to brothy I’m not usually up for. I like chunks. Meat. Vegetables. Noodles. Or even brown rice. But broth…is not my thing.

After seeing this recipe on a blog I follow and knowing that everything I’ve tried from this blog has been amazing, I decided it was worth a shot. And, the first time I made it, my electrician brother-in-law was here fixing a light fixture in our house and he ended up being here for dinner and even he liked it! And he is a meat and potatoes kind of guy if you ever saw one. He eats no salad greens and if the whole family goes out to eat, he orders a burger or steak, no matter where we go. So if he likes this soup, then everyone should like this soup.

My kiddos ( an almost 2 years old and a 3 year old) like the cheese filled noodles. I have even added shredded chicken to this recipe to give it a little more ‘umph’. (that’s my chunky soup love coming out)

Tortellini Soup

1 tbsp. olive oil

1/2 cup onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced (i used already minced garlic)

1/2 tsp. dried oregano

1 (15oz.) can diced tomatoes, with juices

4 cups low-sodium vegetable or chicken broth

9 oz. tortellini, any variety (fresh or frozen)

3 cups fresh baby spinach, loosely packed

salt and pepper

Grated Parmesan, for serving

In a large pot or dutch oven, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the onions to the pan and cook until beginning to soften, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook, stirring frequently, just until fragrant, about 1 minute. Mix in the oregano and diced tomatoes. Add the broth to the pot. Bring mixture to boil. Add the tortellini to the pot and cook according to package directions. One minute before the tortellini is fully cooked, stir in the spinach. Remove from heat. Season with salt and pepper to taste Serve warm with grated Parmesan cheese.

Adapted from Annie’s Eats

NOTE: the last time I made this, I had only ‘hot’ diced tomatoes and it gave it an extra zip! My husband, who has a thing for spicy stuff despite his heartburn, loved it!

2 thoughts on “Tortellini Soup

  1. Yummy. Trader Joes has some good tortellini that would probably be great in this! I also have never been much of a “brothy” person. I notice adding a little hot sauce goes a long way though 🙂

Leave a Reply :)

