Buck-Eye Bark

What is Christmas without some good ‘ol peanut butter!?!?!?!

According to my hubby, awesome. As he doesn’t like hates loathes  anything to do with peanuts or peanut butter. Weird, I know.  Oh well, I love him anyway :)

Normally I would have at least 3 things peanut butter on my Christmas cookie list. This year: one. Numero uno.

But let me tell me, it’s so worth it.

I am a fan of peanut butter balls, or better known as in the good ‘ol state of Ohio (O-H-I-O!), buckeye’s. And as you may know, a good friend of mine, (I won’t mention any names, *cough, Beth, cough* is from Ohio and VERY proud of it!)

So, I found this recipe on, you guessed it, Pinterest! I was sold. Chocolate. Peanut butter.

My description of these is this: buckeye’s in bark form.

Another plus is that they were so easy! The hardest part, was cutting the chocolate coating. Seriously. That’s it. And if you’re man is around, make him do it…lol

Buck-eye Bark (from Live Sigma Kappa)

2 1/2 lbs chocolate candy coating
1 (16.3 oz) jar (about 2 cups) creamy peanut butter
2 cups powdered sugar
8 Tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1 tsp vanilla extract

Melt half the chocolate (1 1/4 lb if you are weighing it like I did) according to package directions. I just did mine in a pot on the stove. I just kept in a low heat. Spread the melted chocolate on parchment paper line cookie sheet. Don’t spread too thin. Only 1/8-1/4 inch thick. Place in freezer until firm,

In a large bowl, combine peanut butter, powdered sugar, butter and vanilla. Blend until creamy. (it will be pretty thick) Remove the first layer of chocolate from the freezer and spread the peanut butter mixture over the chocolate. Place back in the freezer until firm.

Melt the other half of the chocolate. Spread over the peanut butter layer. Place back in the freezer until the top layer is firm.

Once firm, break the bark up into small-ish pieces using a large knife.

Store in the fridge or freezer until served.

009

Flamingo, 2011

2 thoughts on “Buck-Eye Bark

Leave a Reply :)

