Sprinkled Sugar Cookies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some wonderful friends of mine are moving this week/weekend. Actually, two family’s. One family bought a house and the other family is going to be renting the other families previous house. So all this is going down in one day, and sadly, it has to be a Friday, so I won’t be of much help with my two boys running around. Sorry, but I just can’t any of that going well. So I decided to offer to bake something! Since it’s obviously a passion of mine, why not? What I did not know, was that it would be 93 degrees outside when I had to bake. Praise the Lord for air conditioning!
In my head, I knew I wanted to make two different kinds of cookies. One with chocolate (later decided it to be m&m’s since I was somehow out of chocolate chips..I know, I know…) and a sugar cookie of some sort. But since I don’t make sugar cookies that much (because of my addiction to chocolate) I went on a search for some delicious sugar cookies.When I make cookies, I don’t want flat, hard cookies. NO. I want puffy, soft, melt-in-your-mouth cookies. You know the kind. They’re they ones your Grandma used to make when you were a kid. The ones that went perfectly with that glass of milk (I wouldn’t know what that is like though, since I was lactose intolerant as a kid and now don’t like white milk..oh well).
Just my luck, I was scanning Facebook this morning and came across a post from Sally. And it happened to have 10 (count ‘em ten!) cookies recipes on it. While the all looked absolutely amazing, there were two that stuck out to me. A sugar cookie and an m&m cookie. OH. MY. GOODNESS. This is my day! It was perfect! Then I read the recipes…
The sugar cookies used butter extract, which I’ve never owned, but am pretty sure I will need to pick some up at the store next time I’m there (thankfully, payday is soon! However, I managed to make them anyway. She had a note towards the end of the post about substituting the butter extract for almond extract. And since I decided to make a double batch, I used half almond and half vanilla extract. I’m also not a huge fan of almond extract, but these cookies actually taste pretty good!
As for the m&m cookies, she said to refrigerate them for as long as you can…well, I don’t have that long… so I haven’t actually decided if I have time to make them or not…indecision at it’s best.
Now, these cookies didn’t turn out puffy. But they are soft and delicious and that’s good enough for me!
I also didn’t have all the colorful sprinkles that I saw in the cookie post, but I didĀ  my best and put colors together that are cute anyhow!
Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sprinkled Sugar Cookies (adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction)
Yield: 48 little cookies

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened to room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 large egg yolks
1/2 tsp almond extract
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup colorful sprinkles
1/4 cup sprinkles, for rolling

In the bowl of a stand mixer (you could probly do this by hand too) blend butter and sugar together until fluffy-ish.
Add egg yolks, almond extract, vanilla extract, baking powder, and salt until well combined.
Mix in flour until the dough form a ball and pulls away from edges of bowl.
Carefully mix in 1/2 cup sprinkles.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Roll cookie dough into teaspoon size balls and roll in remaining 1/4 cup sprinkles. Place on cookies sheet and bake 9 minutes or until just done. You don’t want to over bake these, then they will be hard.

Let cool for a couple minutes pan before moving them to a cooling rackĀ  to cool completely.

Leave a Reply :)

