Black Bean Brownies

Image

Don’t let the name fool you. These are fantastic! I’ve had other black bean brownies, but they’ve always a bit too dry or not chocolatey enough for my taste. (and I <3 chocolate) So when I found this recipe (originally named Fudgy Black Bean Brownies) I had to try them!

My husband even liked them and he’s always (until quite recently) refused to eat beans of any kind. But now I can sneak black beans in things and I don’t hear too much complaining coming from his side of the table. My two boys think they’re jelly beans. I’m not sure how much longer I can get away with that.

The brownies do NOT taste anything like beans. They are more dense and dry than the fudgy brownies you would buy in a box at the store, but I refuse to use boxed foods when I can make it just as good, or better, all by myself. I am also into switching out ingredients for a healthier option. So no sugar (other than the chocolate chips) and no oil! I like feel a little better about the junk I eat.Image

 

Black Bean Brownies (adapted from Pennies on a Platter)

1 (15oz) can black beans, drained and rinsed very well)

3 large eggs

3 Tbsp applesauce

3/8 cup honey

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

1 cup milk chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Grease and 8×8 inch pan.

Process (in a food processor or blender) the black beans until smooth. (I only have a blender, and it works okay, but I add the eggs right away to blend the beans, otherwise, they just get pasty and my blender stops blending) Add the rest of the ingredients, minus the chocolate chips and process again until smooth. Mix in 1/2 cup of the chocolate chips and pulse/blend a few times just until the chocolate chips are incorporated well.

Pour the batter into you greased pan and smooth.  Sprinkle with remaining chocolate chips.

Bake for 30-35 minutes or until it passes the toothpick test.

Cut and Enjoy!

These would be tasty with some homemade ice cream or Greek Yogurt on top!

One thought on “Black Bean Brownies

  1. Pingback: Vanilla Bean Frozen Yogurt | The Stuffed Flamingo

Leave a Reply :)

